The Callaham family has farmed in the upstate of South Carolina for approximately 200 years. The first part of the present farm was bought in 1938 by Edgar Callaham. Edgar and his wife Madge farmed cotton and vegetables until his passing in 1960. The farm was then rented out to local farmers for the next nine years. In 1969, Edgar’s two sons, James and Ray, put out the first commercial planting of fruit trees. Over the next 23 years, James and Ray kept planting more fruit trees as customer demand continued to grow. Their brother, Walter Lee, joined them in the fruit farming venture. In 1992, Ray’s two sons, Bobby and Andy purchased land and joined the orchards’ operation as partners, expanding to 120 acres. The orchard was incorporated in 1998. James, one of the original founders passed away on January 6, 2003. The farm continues to grow as educational tours were added in 2001 and a gem mine was added in 2005.